Italy Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  2.7
 Rooms  2.6
 Cleanliness  2.9
 Location  3.1
 Security & Safety  2.7
 Service & Staff  3.2
 Food / Dining  2.8
 Total  2.9

"Just don't stay there"

User Rating:  2.1
Reviewer:   Anna B. of Brovst, Denmark
Reviewed:   June 21, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2011     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Few reasons why NOT to choose the Silvio hostel:

- only ONE toilet for 16 people accommodated in the hostel, moreover at the same place where sinks were - so it was imposible to use the toilet if someone else was using one of the sinks

- few of our roommates were bitten by BEDBUGS - fortunately, not us

- the owner sleeps in the kitchen so the it is closed from 23pm-8am - if you wake up earlier you cannot enter the kitchen

- we were asked to pay 2 euros per person for leaving our luggage after check-out time - what was not mentioned at the beginning and what is a strange practice at all

All in all, the only advantage is that hostel is central, but still it is not worth 19 euros per night (together with the local tax).

"dont book through net"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Dora F. of wien, Austria
Reviewed:   March 2, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2011     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Dear all,

I derinately dont recommend a hotel for those who wants to book it through net.I have very bad experiences about it. I booked two nights for two persons and they charged 10 % percent as usual. First of all we didnt find the hotel, cause it was not the correct address. We had to look for the hostel 1 hour long asking everybody if they know any hostel nearby, because they didnt pick up a phone although we informed them about our arrivel time (9pm). After 1 hour we found a hostel called cherry hostel on the same road but the staff didnt want to let us in becasue it was full. I asked the person how can it happen but his answer was " The hotel is full, its not my problem and I dont speak english, call the manager!" After arguing with him gave me a number. I called a lady who said: " dont worry we took only 10 % percent of your money" that was the answer. I fighted with her 10 minutes and just to get rid of me she gave back the deposit. So after 2 hours searching for the silvio hostel, a big fight, not to mention the torture to look for another hotel nearby at 11pm in the dark in a totallydangerous area in Rome. Our costs were double of course, becasue in this short time nobody can find another one.

Thank you Silvio!

"BED BUGS"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Nicola S. of Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   August 31, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2010     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We had a terrible experience here, the rooms were cramped and not the cleanest but worst of all there were bed bugs living in the curtains I spent one night here and was covered in bites, the staff refused to acknowledge the problem saying I must have an allergy and finally let us move to the other side of the room which wasn't good enough especially as we then found the bugs ourselves in the curtains. We only stayed one of the 3 nights we had booked and got a refund for one of the nights so only lost one nights money (though spent lots on laundry washing everything!!) but my advise would be DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!

"Very friendly would stay there again"

User Rating:  3.2
Reviewer:   Annabel K. of Oxford, England
Reviewed:   August 23, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2010     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The staff were very friendly, the location is good, free internet access and breakfast included. My main complaint was safety as no lockers or safety deposits were provided... Also the directions to the hostel on line are not very good. All in all I would stay there again even though the room for 6 people was very small!

"good hostel"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Roman W. of cracow, Poland
Reviewed:   July 24, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2010     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Gorąco polecam, dobrze położony w centrum historycznym Rzymu. Drugi raz tam mieszkałem i jeszcze w tym roku skorzystam. Brawo. Roman Wachowiak Polska

"Stay Elsewhere"

User Rating:  1.4
Reviewer:   Dawn S. of Wilkes-Barre, United States
Reviewed:   July 5, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2010     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We experienced sewage bubbling up in the shower, a bed that was pulled from the landfill, dimly lit room, and lots of noise. It was a terrible experience. We were in early each night because the area did not feel safe. This owner also owns Cherry Hostile which was much worse.
In fairness, I must say that the owner and his wife were very nice and friendly but nothing could make up for this place. Stay elsewhere.

"No ir !"

User Rating:  1.7
Reviewer:   Romina S. of Olivos, Argentina
Reviewed:   June 20, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2010     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
No es un hostel! es un departamento donde alquila 3 cuartos. Hay feo olor.
La habitación que nos tocaba a mi amiga y a mi no tenía ventanas. El barrio donde está ubicado es inseguro y horrible.
Al final no nos quedamos ahí porque a mi amiga le dio miedo, tuvimos que igual pagar la primer noche. Las chicas que se estaban alojando nos dijeron que si no podiamos ir a otro lado no lo dudaramos!
horrible! no iría nunca más y no lo recomiendo

"Vacaciones en Roma"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Valeria F. of Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed:   June 7, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2010     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Estuve en Roma en Silvio Hostel una estadia fantastica en un lugar muy lindo y amigable con gente de todo el mundo , el hostel esta excelentemente ubicado a 300 metros de Termini, las habitaciones son amplias y confortables y los servicios en comun sala cocina limpios y agradables no hay limites de horario para regresar como pasa en otros hostel de europa.
Si vienen por Roma les recomiendo hospedarse aqui.
Valeria Flores Argentina

"niceee manager"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Trandafir A. of london, England
Reviewed:   April 28, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2010     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I liked very much in silviohostel, I felt very good, very close to the Colosseum, the staff very welcoming and especially nice manager
I return here, clean and cheap

"good hostel"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Denis H. of galati, Romania
Reviewed:   April 27, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   April 2010     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
i stay in silviohostel,i liked so much,very nice staff,good breakfast
very near to center


1 - 10 of 11 reviews  Next 1 result




ItalyInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us



Warning: Unknown: write failed: No space left on device (28) in Unknown on line 0

Warning: Unknown: Failed to write session data (files). Please verify that the current setting of session.save_path is correct (/home/tmp) in Unknown on line 0